Physical battle and the Christian or was Ghandi right?

Friend asked: “what are ur thoughts on physical battle from a Christian perspective. Jesus taught Turn the other cheek and live by the sword die by the sword.”

My thoughts:
There are times that dying for a cause is a great and noble thing… But most often, living for a cause is the more difficult higher path that requires mental, physical and moral/spiritual struggle.

Thou shalt not murder:
I did not choose to serve my Country in the military and I many times wish I had. I highly respect those that did, including my Dad. I am also thankful I don’t have the physical and psychological scars that some veterans I know have received while protecting my freedom. The commandment not to kill is best translated, do not murder. Killing and murder are very different things. Killing, murder, war; God did not want any of these things. That is clear from his creations in the garden of Eden. And still, Cain struck Able.

“Turn the other cheek”
This verse is often quoted as a Jesus pacifist verse. I’ve also heard it argued that it is in reference to being insulted more than being physically assaulted. Yes it is clear that is no Scriptural reference to Jesus physically defended himself from attackers. But as of yet, I have not developed the ability to just “walk through the crowd” (Luke 4:29–30) after I have been driven out of town and take up a cliff to be thrown off of it.

“Live by the sword, die by the sword”:
It is also clear that Jesus knew that his disciples carried swords. There have never been hunting swords.

The leather “whip” and the table flip:
With holy anger, I presume, Jesus saw the “money changers” making a mockery of his “Fathers” house- he sat down and made a whip. Jesus didn’t just pick up a handy strap and commence swinging. He literally sat down and hand made a leather whip. I can just imagine the things he muttered – really, what would Jesus mumble to Himself when angry? Anyway, ratcha fratcha, darn it, dang, then he tossed tables and loudly proclaimed the error of their ways!

C.S. Lewis reminds us about the personality of God:

“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.
C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Gandhi:
I remember being mesmerized by the story of Ghandi’s life. His intelligence, humor, wisdom and dynamic soft spoken leadership.

Satyagraha: Wikipedia defines “loosely” as: holding on to truth, truth force. Gandhi coined this word to define his non-violent resistance.

I’m not so sure Gandhi would have stuck to non-violence if he had confronted Hitler or the machete wielding genocide maniacs of the Sudan. Satyagraha defines a steadfastness to truth.

Physical battle: I have the knowledge and basic ability to kill most adults with my right big toe and left thumb.
I am extremely non-violent, until you give me no choice. I have nothing to prove and a family to be alive for.

This entry was posted in Karate, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

